more from
Astral Spirits


by Icepick

  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.

      $7 USD  or more




Proud to give you digital access to the very first piece of vinyl released by Astral Spirits! LP is officially sold out, but hopefully we will have a new offering from Icepick in the not too distant future!

Review by Ryan Hall at Tome to The Weather Machine:

"Astral Spirits literally RIPS into the vinyl world with this insanely great collective improv by the legendary Chris Corsano on drums, Nate Wooley on trumpet and Ingebrigt Haker-Flaten on double bass. The album is filled with moments that, if dissected and surgically removed from the whole of the album – movements of relatively straight improvised post-bop to expressive meditations on the sheer mechanical movements of music – would be showcases, resume builders of three musicians on top of their game. Together, in totality, sound impossibly honed and interconnected as if directed from some higher power with some greater purpose. One such standout is Haker-Flaten’s impressively aggressive way he goes after bass lines on "Rossa Corsa" - attacking them with super villain tenacity in conjunction and with incredible dynamic range during his solo. Wooley showcases his ability to wring literally every sound a trumpet and mouth can make on the criminally short “Fuchsia” from airy breathspaces to flatulent lows. The album’s most impressive piece is the B-Side spanning “Rare Rufescent” wherein the track moves on a non-linear path from structured chaos to internal-shared logic chaos communicated using telepathy and Jungian archetypes. Listening at high volumes reveal Corsano playing every inch of his drum set, woody chops echo beneath splashy fills and inhuman snare hits while Haker-Flaten runs speed trials around Wooley’s in-the red-runs across a ruinous tonal field. A truly magnificent thing to behold."


released January 19, 2016

Nate Wooley - trumpet
Chris Corsano - drums
Ingebrigt Haker Flaten - bass

Recorded September 20th, 2014 in Austin, TX
Engineered, mixed and mastered by Ian Rundell.
Produced by Icepick, executive production by Nate Cross.

All music by Nate Wooley (Fourwordseamusic/BMI), Chris Corsano (BMI) & Ingebrigt Haker Flaten (Tono/BMI).



all rights reserved


Icepick Austin, New York

contact / help

Contact Icepick

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code